How do I get a marriage license at the Hendry County courthouse?
Circuit CourtClerk & Comptroller
Hendry County, Florida
25. Hickpochee Ave.
SR 80 Corner SR 29
Office Hours 8:30 A.M to 4:45 P.MMailing Adress:
LaBelle, FL 33975 Hendry County Courthouse 25 E. Hickpochee Ave.Labelle, FL 33935
Marriage License Fees:
- Couple, both Florida residents, both took the course.
Rate $ 61.00- No waiting
- Couple, both non-Florida residents
Rate $86.00 – No waiting
- Couple, one Florida resident, One non-resident, neither took the course
Rate $86.00 3 days waiting
- Couple, a non-Florida resident, no course, and a Florida resident who took the course
Rate $86.00 – No waiting.
Waiting period for the Marriage License to come into effect.
There is a 3-day waiting period for Florida residents, which can be waived if:
- The couple completes a premarital preparation course taught by a registered and qualified course provider and submits the Certificate of Completion to the clerk before obtaining a marriage license.
- The couple must also sign the Family Law Manual Declaration, acknowledging that they have accessed the Family Law Manual, and check the section of the Declaration that certifies whether or not a Premarital Preparation Course has been completed.
Please note: There is no waiting period when both parties are non-Florida residents.
Can a marriage license be issued to a person under 18 years of age?
Florida Statute 741.04(1) does not allow a marriage license to be issued to a person under 18 years of age unless:
- 741.04(1)(a): They are 17 years old and can provide written consent from their parents/legal guardians, which is acknowledged by an official authorized by law to give recognitions and administer oaths, and
- 741.04(2)(b): The older party to the marriage is no more than 2 years older than the younger party.
Which means that the Clerk’s Office will issue a Marriage License to:
- A 17-year-old and a 17-year-old, when both have obtained the consent of their parents/guardians, as indicated above.
- A 17-year-old with the consent of his or her parents or guardians, as stated above, and the other party is 18 or 19 years old.
The Secretary will not issue a Marriage License to a person who is 17 years of age, even with legal parental/guardian consent, to any person who is 20 years of age or older.
The Secretary will not issue a Marriage License to any person who is 16 years of age or younger.
Requirements to obtain a marriage license in the State of Florida.
Both parties must be present when applying for a marriage license, sign the application form, and take an oath as to the truthfulness of the information provided.
Both parties must prove the following:
- Identification: in the form of a driving license, state identification, military identification or passport.
- US citizens will need to provide documentation with their Full Name and Social Security Number. Non-citizens may provide documentation with their Full Name and Social Security Number or an Alien Registration Number issued by the Immigration and Naturalization Service. Additionally, a passport is an acceptable form of identification for non-citizens.
- If either party has been married before, they must provide proof of when the most recent marriage ended.
- If either party has been previously married and the last spouse is deceased, a death certificate must be submitted.
Is there a time limit?
The license must be useb within sixty (60) days of the ” effective date”.
How long does it take to obtain a copy of the marriage certificate and the costs ?
You will receive a certified copy of the Marriage Certificate within 7 days after the officiant returns it to the Clerk’s Office for recording. The first copy is free of charge. Additional certified copies cost $3.00.
Important: Al the moment there is only one location in Hendry Fl.
Family Law Manual
Wedding Photo & Video by Liam does MANY courthouse weddings each year and we would be honored to photograph and/or film your ceremony.