Official Records Office
Lee County Administration Building
2115 Second Street, 2nd Floor
Fort Myers, FL 33901
For more information, call 239-533-5007
About the marriage license
There are TWO steps to obtaining a marriage license. The first step is to complete the online application and the second step is to issue and sign the license.
A marriage license can be obtained in any county in the state of Florida (regardless of where you live) and can only be used to get married within the state of Florida.
Marriage licenses are valid in any county in Florida for a period of 60 days from the effective date of the license.
If one or both parties are Florida residents, the couple must wait three days before the marriage license becomes effective or take a 4-hour premarital preparation course to waive the 3-day waiting period. There is no waiting period for non-Florida residents.
- Photo identification that shows your name and date of birth, such as a US driver’s license, US state identification card, military ID, passport, license plate identification card, passport alien or a U.S. permanent resident card. Birth certificates are not acceptable forms of identification.
- Social Security Number (US citizens).Foreign passport number (non-US citizens)
- Applicants must be at least 18 years old. For applicants under 18 years of age, please visit our FAQ section .
Waiting period and discounted marriage license
There is a 3-day waiting period before Florida residents can use the marriage license to get married. The 3-day waiting period begins once the Clerk’s office issues the actual license. The waiting period may be waived if both applicants have completed a premarital counseling course with an approved premarital course provider and present a certificate of completion at the time of application. There is no waiting period for non-Florida residents, but if the couple has a Florida resident, the waiting period applies.
NOTE: The marriage license is only valid for 60 days from the effective date of the license.
All area marriage course providers must be registered with the clerk. For providers wishing to register with the clerk, see the Instructions on How to Register.
Additionally, both Florida residents and non-residents can receive a $25 discount on their marriage license by completing a premarital course. The course must be completed no more than one year or until the date of application for the marriage license . Both parties must attend the course to be eligible for the discount.
How to apply for a marriage license
- Complete the Marriage License Online Application and note the marriage license kiosk transaction number.
- Both parties should read the Family Law Manual. It is available in English and Spanish.
- Print and complete the Declaration of Compliance
- Print and complete (DO NOT sign) the Affirmation of Common Children Born in Florida form ONLY IF applicants have a minor child in common who was born in the state of Florida.
- Recommended appointments: Make an appointment.
NOTE: The Online Marriage License Application is valid for 30 days. After 30 days, applications are deleted and you will have to reapply online.
- At the moment there is only one location in Lee County that performs marriage ceremonies and that is in Fort Myers.
- The couple must possess a valid Florida marriage license to perform a ceremony at our office.
- Each party must present their valid identification to the secretary.
- A fee of $30.00 will be charged.
- Recommended Appointments: Make an appointment
- Upon arrival at our office, each party will present their identification and valid Florida marriage license to the clerk.
- The couple can choose to get married in our wedding ceremony hall.
- No more than 15 people, including both spouses, will be allowed in the wedding hall.
- The couple will receive a receipt and a certified copy of their signed marriage license.
Wedding Photo & Video by Liam does MANY courthouse wedding each year and we would by honored to photograph and/or film your ceremony.
Do you want a quote for photo and/or video?